J.Cole On Working Wit Jay-Z BP3 In Complex Magazine

 

Complex: How were you approached to be on “A Star Is Born”?

J. Cole: I had a show in show in Virginia. This was back when I was just opening up for Wale on like a few dates. So, I was in Virginia, and I had two shows, one in Norfolk, and one in Richmond. I get a get a call from Mark Pitts and he’s like, “Yo nigga, Jay just hit hit me. He said he got something big for you.” I was like, “Oh shit, what you mean?” He said, “He got this Kanye track… something about a star is born…some shit about a star.” I thought, from his explanation, because you can tell he wasn’t too clear on it, I thought Jay just had a joint for me. I thought it would be mine, and I was on some shit like, Ahhh, I don’t like being told “get on this” or whatever. But I’m like, Damn!

Check out complex for the rest of the interview.

DOWNLOAD: Jay-Z – A Star Is Born ft. J.Cole (prod. Kanye West & No I.D.)

Explore posts in the same categories: Articles

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

