It’s The Official Review: Busta Rhymes – B.O.M.B. (Back on My B.S.)

Alright guys before getting into the review let me give you the history on this album because this went through a lot of red tape to get to the stores, which then brings it to your ears. The album was originally going to be called Before Hell Freezes Over, or Blessed, and at the last moment Busta Rhymes decides to change it to B.O.M.B. (Back on My B.S.). The album was actually suppose to released in 2007, seems like Busta Rhymes was on Dr. Dre time, but better later than never.

When I placed B.O.M.B. on my iPod I was not sure of what to expect because of the songs I heard on the radio, and from what Busta Rhymes simply described the album as something you will love. I know right, great marketing Busta, but seriously he was right, this album has something for everybody from catchy singles such as “Arab Money” and “Conglomerate” to old school, sample friendly boom bappers such as “I’m a Go and Get My”.

Busta begins the album off with “Wheel of Fortune” produced by DJ Scratch. The track opens with a orchestral conduction of back on my bullsh*t, before transitioning into an old school track which is reminiscent of old Busta Rhymes which acts as a prelude into “Give Em What They Askin For” his current single, followed by the “Respect My Conglomerate”. I personally love “Respect My Conglomerate”, but prefer the version with Young Jeezy as a feature instead of the one they used on the album. The roller coaster effect of this album continues to go on as we are hit with “Shoot for the Moon”. The intro on the track fools you as you think, your going to have a traditional hip hop track, until the synth and organs strike you, and Busta begins to harmonize on the chorus. It works to great effect, as I found myself singing the chorus.

As B.O.M.B. progresses you catch a glimpse of Busta Rhymes from when he collaborated with Janet Jackson in the late 90’s on “Sugar” which features Jelly Roll. I know crazy name for an artist, but it serves it purpose. Jelly Roll knows the role of a guest spot, and just sets the tone of the record on the chorus, and runs away with it on his verse. Another notable track is “Decisions”, which features Mary J Blige, Jamie Foxx, John Legend, and Common. When you have a lineup of features that size, the song usually suffers from “too many chefs in the kitchen”, but that’s not the case here. The pianos keys set the tone for the track as Busta Rhymes and his peers reflect on past memories, and the decisions they made.

Back on My B.S. is not an album without its problems. It suffers from too many features. There are only four songs out of a total off fourteen songs which are Busta Rhymes by himself, every other song is he with a feature from T-Pain, Ron Browz, Estelle, among others. It’s understandable to have features, but they should not outweigh your solo material, unless the album is stated to be a collaborative effort, or compilation of some sort. The album also suffers on the production side of things. “Don’t Believe Em” stands out to me as something I have heard before, it is drastically similar to songs, which are currently on the market. Akon and T.I. serve as features on that particular track, yet it feels like its T.I. featuring Akon and Busta Rhymes. I was also upset to find out that “I Got Bass”, and “Don’t Touch Me” were not present on this album, two songs that I, and the public approved of.

I feel Busta Rhymes was just about having fun on this album; he has already solidified his place in hip-hop, and music as a collective. B.O.M.B. (Back on My B.S.) is a good album, but does not out do its predecessor The Big Bang.

Highlight Tracks: Wheel of Fortune, Arab Money, Sugar, Decisions, Respect My Conglomerate, Sugar, and Kill Dem

Score: 3 out of 5

Tracklist:

1. “Wheel of Fortune”
Produced by DJ Scratch

2. “Give Em What They Askin for”
Produced by Ron Browz

3. “Respect My Conglomerate” (feat. Lil Wayne & Jadakiss)
Produced by Focus

4. “Shoot for the Moon”
Produced by Danja

5. “Hustler’s Anthem ’09” (feat. T-Pain)
Produced by Ty Fyffe

6. “Kill Dem” (feat. Pharrell & Tosh)
Produced by The Neptunes

7. “Arab Money” (feat. Ron Browz)
Produced by Ron Browz

8. “I’m a Go and Get My…” (feat. Mike Epps)
Produced by DJ Scratch

9. “We Want In” (feat. Ron Browz, Flipmode Squad: Spliff Star & Show Money)
Produced by King Karnov

10. “We Miss You” (feat. DeMarco & Jelly Roll)
Produced by Needlz

11. “Sugar” (feat. Jelly Roll)
Produced by Jelly Roll

12. “Don’t Believe Em” (feat. Akon & T.I.)
Produced byCool & Dre

13. “Decision” (feat. Jamie Foxx, Mary J. Blige, John Legend & Common)
Produced by Mr. Porter

14. “World Go Round” (feat. Estelle)
Jelly Roll

Explore posts in the same categories: Articles, Music

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

